HOW DEEP IS YOUR KNOWLEDGE?

Placeholder Image

Sat down for hours thinking about my next post, and then it hit me…how well do people understand what celibacy entails?

So, before we continue on this journey of ours, let’s make sure we’re carrying everyone along on the same wagon.

Oh yeah, happy last day of the month 💃. It’s been such an amazing month for me, and to think it’s just the first month of the year!!!

I hope y’all haven’t forgotten all the new year resolutions you made. Keep yourself in check and make sure you go through with all your goals for the year.

2017

I hope it’s not to late to talk about new year resolutions. I actually feel like this is a great time to talk about it, because most people forget or become too lax about their resolutions and as the month comes to an end, it’s a great time to regurgitate those desires and goals we long to achieve.

One of my resolutions for this year is to NOT WAIT.

I’m a practical person, so I always want to dot all the i’s and cross all the t’s before taking any step and often times, I end up losing interest in what ever it is or just waste unnecessary time.

So this year, I decided to JUST DO IT. To always take the bold step – as quickly as possible – without holding back. Who has holding back ever helped? Or, worrying about what people will say – I know right? The ultimate show stopper.

Don’t get me wrong, of course you have to take a wise leap of faith, but honestly speaking, how many times have you thought needlessly, for long hours about something, wasting unnecessary time?

I do hope I keep up with my JUST DO IT resolution and other resolutions as well.

Okay okay…enough about me.

CELIBACY VS ABSTINENCE

What does it mean to be celibate?

Before we can talk about that we first have to tackle the difference between celibacy and abstinence. Remember I said we were going to discuss the difference here.

Celibacy is different from abstinence – “they both mean avoiding sex, so they must definitely mean the same thing” – No boo, they are totally different.


 Abstinence is an imposed (could be self-imposed or imposed by someone on you) restraint from sexual activity with no greater purpose.

It could be as a result of a medical issue – caught an STI, recovering from an illness – or a situation which you have no control over, in fact, most of us only abstain cause we are not in a relationship, so there really isn’t anyone to have any sexual relations with yeah?

But you see, Celibacy is “Abstinence with purpose” with celibacy it doesn’t matter if you’re in a relationship or not, doesn’t matter your religion, age or any of those good stuff…why? Cause you have made a conscious decision to abstain from sex, might be because of your faith or a vow you made (either to yourself or someone else) or just cause you know within you that abstaining from sex has lots of benefits – oh yes it does, don’t give me that look.

Related image

Celibacy is something you go into fully aware of the reasons you’re embarking on the journey and the expected outcomes – you could be searching for inner peace, true love, real connection, “the one”, in fact you could just be looking for room to improve yourself (trust me, being celibate will get that done for you).

It also doesn’t matter what your past sexual life was like.

An argument erupted a few days back about virginity and celibacy. I’m here to tell you that it doesn’t matter! A virgin can be celibate.

So also, can a person who’s had multiple sexual partners. Anyone can be celibate, irrespective of their sexual experiences.

There you have it…

Abstinence has no greater purpose while Celibacy does.

Celibacy can be practiced by anyone.

Easy peasy right? – let me know what you think in the comments section below and as always feel free to Contact me for your questions and suggested topics.

What are your goals for year? Let’s keep the fire burning!!

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to share!

14 thoughts on “HOW DEEP IS YOUR KNOWLEDGE?

Leave a Reply

